The legacy Notes feature in Engage is being replaced by the new Notes functionalities described in this article. To aid the transition to the new Notes infrastructure, all previously created Notes will be available until June 1, 2021. During this transition period, you can still view your legacy Notes, though creating or editing them has been disabled. After June 1, 2021, you can still contact Support any time over the next two years to receive your legacy Notes exported as a CSV file.
Using Notes in Engage, you can leave reminders for yourself and your teammates on how to best handle your incoming customer inquiries. They have a multitude of uses, from assignments and handovers, to draft messages, personal reminders, and many more workflows where internal coordination is key.
This article will help you to uncover the many flexible purposes of Notes by walking you through the steps of creating, viewing, editing, and deleting them.
Creating Notes in Engage
Leaving a Note on a conversation item
All users with access to Engage can create Notes for the content they handle. Notes can be added to the following items:
- Comments under posts
- Nested comments (a comment under a comment, also called threaded conversations)
- Direct Messages
To create a Note for any of these items, you can follow the steps below:
- Navigate to the item in your Engage feed that you would like to leave a Note for and click to open it in detail view.
- Hover over the bottom right area under the conversation item. A context menu will appear.
- Click the ‘Add a Note’ icon in the context menu.
- Write your Note and click ‘Add Note’ once you’re done.
Coming soon, you will be able to @ mention Admin users and individual Team members in Notes. Each mentioned user will receive an email notification linking to the Note. Additionally, users will be able to filter their Engage Feeds to display only the items where they have been @ mentioned.
Assignment with Notes
A Note is automatically created when a conversation item is assigned to a Falcon user or a team. When assigning the item, you can customize the note with additional details. You can find a full guide on assignment workflows here.
Viewing, editing, and deleting Notes
Any Note appears with a timestamp under the item it was added to. They stand out from the other content by their yellow color.
When in Detail View on any item in Engage, you can choose to filter for items containing notes by clicking the preset filter, ‘With notes’.
Any user can edit and delete their own Notes by hovering over the note in Publish or Engage. Additionally, Admin user can edit and delete all Notes created by all users.
Notes across Publish and Engage
Any Note created on a post in the Publish section will automatically appear in Engage once your content is live. Similarly, any Notes left on a post in Engage will automatically appear in Publish.
Sharing a Note on a post in Publish will allow you, for example, to leave a comment for your colleagues on how to handle the future engagement you're anticipating for one of your posts.
Only Notes left on the post itself in Engage will carry over to Publish. Notes left on any of the comments or nested comments under the post will not be visible in Publish.