Channel Management

After you have connected your Channels to Falcon, they shouldn't require much maintenance. We've designed the connection to be as hands-off as possible. However in some cases, you may need to reconnect disconnected Channels, improve the connection stability, or simply remove Channels which are no longer needed.

This article will help you to successfully manage your Channels and optimize their connection with the platform.

Note:

All features in this article are only available to Falcon users with the user role of Team Leader or Admin. For channel reconnections, please make sure you have the required permissions to connect Channels to Falcon.

Reconnecting disconnected Channels

You may receive a channel disconnection email or see a ‘Disconnected’ notice beside your channel in Falcon. This means that we have lost access to the page and can no longer index content or publish until the correct permissions have been restored. You can find some common causes for channel disconnections here. To reconnect the channel, please follow the steps below:

  1. Click your profile image in the bottom left and select ‘Settings’ in the menu.
  2. Under Channel Settings, choose ‘Channels’.
  3. Find the disconnected channel and select ‘Reconnect’ on the far right.mceclip2.png
  4. When prompted via the pop-up screen, log into the native network and accept any authorization requests.
  5. When redirected to Falcon again, you’ll see this channel already selected under the heading 'New and Disconnected Channels'. Click ‘Connect 1 Channel’. mceclip3.png

Refreshing connected Channels

Even if your Channel is currently labelled as 'Connected', you could still receive errors related to the Channel connection in Publish or Engage. This may be because we weren't able to detect an issue with the Channel connection in advance. If your channel hasn't yet disconnected but you're experiencing functionality issues, you may want to refresh the connection as follows:

  1. Click your profile image in the bottom left and select ‘Settings’ in the menu.
  2. Under Channel Settings, choose ‘Channels’.
  3. Select ‘Add Channels’ in the top, right-hand corner. mceclip0.png
  4. Select ‘Connect’ under the applicable network.
  5. When prompted via the pop-up screen, log into the native network and accept any authorization requests.
  6. When routed back to Falcon, you’ll see three tabs. Select the middle tab, ‘Connected channels administrated by your organization’.
  7. Find the impacted channel, select it and click ‘Connect 1 Channel’.mceclip1.png

Connecting multiple tokens per Channel connection

As a way to prevent frequent Facebook channel disconnections, you can connect multiple tokens per Facebook channel. Each token will serve as an access point for Falcon to manage your channel. Should one token fail, we can fall back on a second token. You can do this with as many tokens as you like. Your channel will only disconnect if all tokens have become invalid.

Once a user has already connected a channel to Falcon, a second user can connect another token by refreshing the connection to the channel as shown above. Additional users can add even further tokens, as long as all users refresh the Channel connection through separate Facebook accounts.

Deleting Channels

Deleting a channel from Falcon will never cause you to lose any information natively on the network, such as posts, comments, replies or anything that was published via Falcon. However, the channel’s data will no longer be visible in Falcon and will be permanently deleted from our Falcon servers after one month. If you reconnect your channel within that month, the data will be imported again. Here's how you can delete a Channel from Falcon: 

  1. Click your profile image in the bottom left and select ‘Settings’ in the menu.
  2. Under Channel Settings, choose ‘Channels’.
  3. Find the Channel you'd like to delete and click it.
  4. Under the 'Edit Channel' tab, click ‘Delete Channel’. mceclip4.png

Viewing the Channel connection history

In your channel’s Audit History, it’s possible to see dates and times for any activity relating to your Channel’s connection. You can discover disconnection errors along with the names of users who have connected it in the past.

  1. Click your profile image in the bottom left and select ‘Settings’ in the menu.
  2. Under Channel Settings, choose ‘Channels’.
  3. Find the channel and click it.
  4. Select the tab, ‘Audit History’. mceclip5.png

Creating Channel Groups

You can choose to group Channels together. Grouping channels allows you to filter for these channels when viewing your content in Publish. This may be useful for global brands who would like to isolate a certain market, or for a brand to group Channels per network.

  1. From your profile icon in the bottom, left-hand side, select ‘Settings’.
  2. From the Settings menu, under Channel Settings, select ‘Channels’.
  3. In the top, right-hand side, select ‘Create Group’.
  4. Create a name for your Channel Group and select ‘Save & Continue’
  5. Select ‘Manage Channels’.
  6. Check the box beside each channel you would like to include, followed by ‘Save’. mceclip5.png
Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful