We've made your content strategy workflow even easier in Falcon. Users with a Content Creator role can create posts in Publish and assign the content to users with approval and publishing permissions. This workflow is a great way to make sure that your posts get an editorial review before going live.
Users with the permissions of a Content Creator or higher can create posts in the Publish module. Only Editor users or higher can directly publish their content though. That means a Content Creator in Falcon must always submit their new content for approval to an Editor, Team Lead, or Admin user.
Users with Editor, Team Lead, or Admin permissions are set to publish or schedule content directly by default but they can also choose to send it for approval.
Submit content for approval
- While creating a post in the Publish Editor, scroll down in the left-hand section of the Editor, to the section 'Approval', and click to unfold it.
Check the box for approval and either leave the dropdown menu at 'Anyone' or pick a specific Editor, Team Lead, or Admin user. If you chose a specific user, only that user will receive an email notification of your content waiting for approval. Otherwise, all users that can approve your post will be notified.
- Click the 'Send for Approval' button under the post preview.
Your post is now moved to the 'Awaiting approval' section in Publish. An email is sent to notify the chosen approvers and a pending task is added to their Home module.
As an approver, you'll receive an email for any content waiting to be approved by you. The Home section of Falcon will also contain the approval requests in your Tasks section. You can approve content as follows:
- The link in an approval email will take you straight to the content. Alternatively, you can always find content waiting for approval in the 'Awaiting approval' section of Publish. Clicking on any of the content there will take you to the Publish Editor.
Review the post and make the necessary adjustments.
You can notify a colleague, such as the author of the post, of any required changes through @ mentioning them in a note.
- Once the post is ready to be published, click the 'Approve & Publish Now' or 'Approve & Schedule' button.
When a message has been approved, the original author of the post will receive an email notification.