Team Management

Creating Teams allows you to group your users together along with the channels they manage. By using Teams, users can streamline their workflow in the platform, exclude unnecessary information and report on the team’s overall performance. This article will help you manage your teams to best suit your organization’s structure.

Note:

All features in this article are only available to Falcon users with a user role of Admin or Team Leader except for the creation of new teams which is is only available to Admin users.

How can I use Teams?

You can group your users or channels in as many ways as you like. There is no limit on the number of users or Channels per Team and each can exist in multiple teams at the same time. Depending on your organization’s structure, you may decide to separate your teams based on location, department, business unit or permission level.

To help you decide how to structure your Teams, you may want to consider the following:

  • Which Channels should certain users be able to access (and which Channels should they not)?
  • Which users may need to report on which Channels?
  • Which Channels may belong together for filtering, reporting, creating content and engaging?
  • Which users will need to interact with each other, such as by notes, assigning, or approval?

Note:

Users will not be able to see or access channels and users outside of their team. However, Admin users will always have access to all teams and users. Please see below for more information.

Creating and Editing Teams

Creating a new Team

Any Falcon Admin user can create a new Team. To get started, please follow the steps below:

  1. Hover over your profile picture in the bottom, left-hand corner and select ‘Settings’.
  2. Select ‘Teams’ on the left, followed by ‘Create Team’ in the top right.
  3. Enter a name for your team and select ‘Save and Continue’.
  4. Under the tab ‘Users’, select either ‘Add Team Members’ on the right to add an existing user in the organization or ‘Create New User’ on the left to add a brand new user. Please see below for information on user roles.TM_CT_Users.png
  5. Under the tab ‘Teams’, select ‘Add Channels’ to scroll/search for connected channels to add. If no channels are connected yet, please see the guide from our Help Center here.TM_CT_Teams.png
  6. Apply Templates, Business Hours and Service Targets as needed. Please see below for more information.

Adding or removing Channels and Users from Teams

At any time, you can adjust which Channels and Users are included in a Team. To get started, please visit your Team by clicking ‘Settings’ followed by ‘Teams’. When you’ve selected the team, select either ‘Users’ or ‘Channels’ followed by the steps below: 

Users

  • To add an existing user in your organization, click ‘Add Team Member’ from the right.
  • To add a brand new user, click ‘Create New User’.
  • To remove a user, hover over the user and click ‘Remove’.
TM_Adjust_Users.png

Channels

  • To add an existing channel in your organization, click ‘Add Channels’ from the right.
  • To remove a channel, hover over the channel and click ‘Remove’.
  • In order to add a brand new channel, please view this guide from our Help Center. At step 4, you’ll be asked which Team(s) the channel should be added to.
TM_Adjust_Teams.png

Adjusting User Roles within Teams

Every user’s permission level in Falcon can be adjusted individually. A user can also be assigned a different user role for each individual Channel in a Team. This means that a user can be included in the Team but may have different access to each channel within that Team. For example, they may be able to publish without approval to one channel (Editor) but require approval for another (Content Creator).

Detailed descriptions on the different user roles can be found here. To adjust a user’s role in the team, please follow the steps below:

  1. Go to Settings, followed by ‘Users’.
  2. Select the user.
  3. Select the tab ‘Teams’.
  4. Find the Team and select ‘Edit Channel Roles’.
  5. Use the dropdown for each channel to choose between Moderator, Content Creator, or Editor.
TM_User_Roles.png

To adjust the user role to Team Leader, select the user followed by the tab ‘Teams’. Next, select the ‘Team Leader’ checkbox beside the applicable Team.

TM_User_Roles_TL.png

If you’d like to make a user an Admin for the entire organization, select the user followed by the tab ‘General’. Next, select the ‘Admin’ checkbox.

TM_User_Roles_Admin2.png

Note:

If you make a user an Admin, they will automatically have access to all teams within the organization.

Templates, Business Hours, and Service Targets

While it’s completely optional, you can choose to add Templates, Business Hours, or Service Targets to your teams. These can be adjusted at any time by clicking on the team under Settings > Teams.

Templates
Response Templates can be created and edited here for your team’s use in Engage. Please check out our Help Center article here for more information on setting up Templates.
Business Hours
In Measure, it’s possible to report on your Team’s performance in Engage by creating a Team Performance Report. By setting your Team’s Business Hours and any exceptions, you can accurately report on the Team’s actions during productive hours, as opposed to the entire day. For more information on Business Hours and how to set them up, please visit our Help Center guide here.
Service Targets
Setting your Team’s Service Target will allow you to establish your Team’s SLA when it comes to response time. Similar to the Business Hours, this is for the benefit of the Team Performance Report. You will be able to see which percentage of your Team’s actions were within your Service Target. For more information and a guide to setting up Service Targets, please visit our Help Center guide here.

Users in multiple Teams

Each user in a Team can only see and access information in Falcon which pertains to their Team such as posts, reports and conversations. However, a user can be part of multiple Teams at the same time. If so, they will have the ability to see information for any Team they’re a part of. In Publish, each user can choose the ‘Filter’ option in the top left to filter their view by ‘Teams’.

TM_Filter.png

While Admin users will have access to all Teams by default, they can opt to temporarily utilise ‘Team View’ mode. This option will condense the platform to only display information relating to that chosen Team. Please visit our Help Center article for more information on switching Team View.

TM_Switch.png

Assigning, Notes, and Approval

When assigning messages in Engage, users can choose from any Admin, entire Teams, or any other user from their Team who also has access to the Channel.

Users can also leave Notes in Publish when creating content. They can choose from any Admin or a member of any of their teams who also has access to the same Channel.

When a user sends a post for approval, they can choose any Admin user or users from their Teams which have the permission to publish to the channel (this excludes Moderators and Content Creators). Lastly, users can choose ‘Anyone’, which will notify every user with permission to publish on the channel.

Team Performance

Once you have set up your Team, it’s possible to report on the performance of the Team in Engage by creating a Team Performance Report in Measure. You can find information on how to set up the reports, what's included and metric definitions by visiting our Help Center guide here.

FAQ

Does each team need a Team Leader?
No, there are no requirements on the amount of user roles per team. A Team can have multiple Team Leaders or no Team Leader at all.
Who can users mention in Notes?
You can @mention anyone in your Team as well as Admin in the platform. Admin users can @mention all users in the organization.
Will users be able to see any information relating to other Teams?
Only information pertaining to your Team will be visible in the platform, except for Audience data. Users with access to the ‘Audience’ tab will be able to see Audience data for the entire organization.
I removed a user from a Team. Will their scheduled posts still get published?
Yes, even if a user is removed from a Team, their scheduled posts will continue to be published. In addition, the user may also continue to receive emails about any scheduled posts that fail to publish.
Was this article helpful?
5 out of 5 found this helpful